Haverhill Voters to Decide New Mayor, Mostly Ward-Based City Council and School Committee

Haverhill City Clerk Kaitlin M. Wright is encouraging residents who haven’t already voted to take part in today’s general election—which will bring in a new mayor in January and the city’s first ward councilors and school committee members. Wright says about 2,800 Haverhill residents took part in early voting and vote-by-mail as of Monday. She notes 519 people took part in early voting and, as of Monday, about 2,300 people returned mail-in ballots. “As “Tip” O’Neill once said, ‘All politics are local,’ and this is going to be one of the most pivotal elections that we will see in our time in Haverhill with a new mayor coming into office. I highly encourage people to get out there and vote,” she says.

Podcast: Haverhill’s Mayoral Candidates Favor Route 97 Fire Station, Share Other Views

Haverhill’s two finalists for mayor approach the city’s problems in different ways, but both agree construction of a new Broadway-area fire station is a top spending priority. Councilor Melinda E. Barrett and retired Police Officer Guy E. Cooper both took time to visit WHAV’s downtown studios to detail their positions—including capital priorities, taxes and housing costs. Both vie to succeed outgoing, 20-year Mayor James J. Fiorentini during early voting this week and next week’s final election. Barrett says she has been working behind the scenes to secure land near Interstate 495 for a new fire station. “A fire station on (Route) 97 will give us a really, incredibly faster call time to Ayers Village and, even, Rocks Village because they could get on the highway there and get down to that other exit,” she said.

Council Takes Final Formalities in Advance of Haverhill’s Consequential General Election

As part of a whirlwind meeting on Tuesday, the Haverhill City Council took the routine steps of approving a warrant for the upcoming general election and reminding residents of advance and convenient opportunities for voting. The consequential election Tuesday, Nov. 7, implements the city’s first mostly ward-based system and decides what new face appears in City Hall’s corner office come January. Haverhill residents will elect one candidate for mayor, four for City Council at large, one candidate for ward city councilor in each of seven city wards, one candidate in each of those same wards for School Committee as well as vote on two non-binding questions. Voting on that date start at 7 a.m. with the polls closing at 8 p.m. In addition, City Clerk Kaitlin M. Wright reminded voters early voting is also be available beginning this coming Saturday.

Campaign Notebook: Ward Representation Appears to Foster Candidate Partnerships

The introduction of mostly ward representation in Haverhill is giving rise to partnerships between non-competing office seekers. This past Sunday morning, for example, saw mayoral candidate and City Councilor Melinda E. Barrett campaigning with Ward 2 city council candidate Katrina Hobbs-Everett in what they called a “Morning of Action” in the neighborhood. Barrett also recently picked up the endorsements of Gov. Maura Healey and Lt. Gov. Kim Driscoll. Tomorrow, Hobbs-Everett joins with Ward 1 city council candidate Ralph T. Basiliere and Ward 1 write-in School Committee contender Erica Diaz for an event called “Get Candid with the Candidates,” between 6 and 7:30 p.m., at Coco Brown, 293 Washington St. Basiliere explains to WHAV listeners what’s behind the cooperation.

Early Voting in Haverhill Begins Saturday; Deadline to Register to Vote is Friday

The Haverhill City Clerk’s office plans early voting beginning this Saturday. Haverhill City Clerk Kaitlin M. Wright said early voting for the city’s final election begins with voting Saturday, Oct. 28, from 10 a.m.-4 p.m., in the former Registry of Motor Vehicles location in the basement of the City Hall, 4 Summer St. Early voting continues weekdays, beginning Monday, Oct. 30, through Friday, Nov.

Haverhill High Government Students Show Current Events Knowledge at Council Forum

Haverhill’s housing crisis, plans for balancing the budget, crime and Merrimack River pollution were front of mind Monday night when Haverhill High School students grilled candidates for Haverhill City Council. While the audience turnout was somewhat sparse, the questions compiled by the students, all members of the Advanced Placement Government class of instructor Shaun Ashworth, were timely. Participating candidates included, in ballot order, Thomas J. Sullivan, Colin F. LePage, Fred Simmons, John A. Michitson and Timothy J. Jordan, and all seeking a seat as one of the four councilors-at-large. Others, looking for one of the newly created ward councilor slots, were Katrina Hobbs-Everett, Ward 2; Devan Ferreira, Ward 3; Kenneth E. Quimby Jr., Ward 4; Michael Morales and Shaun P. Toohey, both Ward 5; and Catherine P. Rogers, Ward 7. On the matter of the budget, candidate Michitson received a laugh from the audience when he jokingly questioned the origin of the question.

Haverhill Democrats Rank Their Local Election Picks During Saturday Straw Poll

Haverhill Democrats picked their favorites for local elected office during a mostly-for-fun straw poll Saturday during the Roz McKeon Annual Breakfast. The unscientific poll, conducted by the Haverhill Democratic City Committee and obviously favoring members, gave 96% of the vote to fellow Democrat Melinda E. Barrett, city councilor and candidate for mayor, over rival Guy E. Cooper, a Republican. For councilor at large, breakfast attendees chose Thomas J. Sullivan, 82%; John A. Michitson, 78%; Timothy J. Jordan, 51%; Fred A. Simmons, 35%; and Colin F. LePage, 27%. Jordan and LePage are unenrolled. In ward council races, Ward 1, Ralph T. Basiliere polled 98% to Republican rival Alexander R. Veras, who also withdrew from the race, but whose name will remain on the ballot.

Firefighters Endorse Haverhill Mayoral, City Council Candidates who Support Staffing, More

Haverhill Firefighters Local 1011 have named their slate of candidates the union endorses for mayor and City Council. The union recommends one person for mayor and six others for City Council. Local 1011 President Timothy Carroll told WHAV why these candidates rose to the top. “They stand with our issues. They stand with the issues that are important to the citizens of Haverhill.