Local Candidates Forum to be Broadcast Live Tonight Over 97.9 WHAV

A similar forum took place during the fall of 2015 with then-candidates for local office. (WHAV News photograph.)

97.9 WHAV will broadcast live a forum of Haverhill City Council and School Committee candidates tonight, beginning at 6 p.m., from Haverhill High School.

The five candidates vying for a seat on the School Committee will be heard first, from approximately 6 to 7 p.m., followed by candidates for City Council from 7 to 9 p.m. Stefani Traina, of the League of Women Voters of Andover/North Andover, will moderate the forum. Joel Gagnon, president of the League of Women Voters of Greater Haverhill, is expected to welcome the candidates and audience.

The five candidates for School Committee are incumbents Paul A. Magliocchetti and Maura L. Ryan Ciardiello, and challengers Katrina Hobbs Everett, Richard Smyth and Rich Rosa.

City Council candidates are Council President John A. Michitson and Councilors Melinda E. Barrett, Michael S. McGonagle, Joseph J. Bevilacqua, Colin F. LePage, Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, William J. Macek, and Thomas J. Sullivan, who are all seeking re-election; and Kenneth Quimby, Fred Simmons, Gregory Roberts, Adele Martino, Hartell Johnson, Kate McGregor and Tim Jordan. Councilor Andy Vargas, who is seeking the Third Essex state representative seat, is not expected to participate.

Candidates will be allowed opening and closing statement. Questions were accepted in advance from the League’s website and social media accounts. Other questions will come from high school students as well as from the audience in the Haverhill High School library. Candidates are not allowed to address each other directly.

Haverhill’s municipal election is Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Besides 97.9 WHAV, audio from the forum will also stream live at WHAV.net.