Haverhill Firefighter Takes City Council Nomination papers

A Haverhill firefighter and past union president is one of three newcomers to contemplate a City Council run.

Lt. Gregory Roberts, a 17-year-veteran of the department and former president of Haverhill Firefighters Local 1011, took out nomination papers Tuesday. Two other recent entrants include Hartell Johnson, active with the Mount Washington Alliance and other civic groups, and Kate McGregor of the Bradford section of the city.

For City Council, all incumbents have taken out papers from the Haverhill City Clerk’s office. They are, in order of when papers were taken, Michael S. McGonagle, Colin F. LePage, Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, Joseph J. Bevilacqua, William J. Macek, Melinda E. Barrett, Thomas J. Sullivan, Andy Vargas and John A. Michitson.

Besides the three new entrants, other City Council challengers are former Councilor Kenneth E. Quimby, Adele Martino, Michael J. Katsulis, Fred Simmons, Tim Jordan, current School Committee member Shaun P. Toohey and Timothy Carroll.

If all candidates return nomination papers and they are certified by Aug. 15, the city will have a preliminary election Sept. 12.

The race for School Committee includes incumbents Maura L. Ryan-Ciardiello and Paul A. Magliocchetti, and challengers Katrina Hobbs Everett, Alicia Smolar, Dave Maddaluno, Richard Smyth and Richard Rosa.

Mayor James J. Fiorentini took out papers June 9. So far, there are no other candidates for mayor.

One thought on “Haverhill Firefighter Takes City Council Nomination papers

  1. Never seems to be a sound choice when actively serving firefighters run for office. However, he has the right and I wish him well. I’ll consider his positions on the issues and vote accordingly.