YWCA Seeks Nominations for Haverhill Tribute to Women

YWCA building on Winter Street, Haverhill, was once the home of Dr. Irah Eaton Chase, a Haverhill physician and philanthropist. (File photograph.)

The YWCA Haverhill Tribute to Women Committee is seeking nominations of outstanding area women to be honored at this fall’s Tribute to Women awards luncheon.

The event, scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 26 at Di Burro’s, celebrates women who exemplify the YWCA mission of “empowering women.” Women who live or work in Greater Haverhill and Southern New Hampshire who make outstanding contributions professionally and in their service to the community are eligible.

“This year is an exciting one for the YWCA. We are re-opening the YWCA Haverhill Residence, which has been closed for five years,” said Tribute to Women Committee Chairperson Kim Ocasio. “It’s a thrill to complete this much-needed project so we can once again offer safe housing to some of the city’s most vulnerable women.”  Ocasio serves on the YWCA Board of Directors and was an honoree at the 2011 Tribute to Women.

The nearly $2 million YWCA renovation project involves all three floors of its historical 1855 building. Work includes a new elevator and other features to make the building fully handicapped accessible for the first time. It was the former mansion of Dr. Irah Eaton Chase, a Haverhill physician and philanthropist who donated it to the YWCA in 1906 with the caveat that the YWCA must keep its doors open to women in need or ownership would revert to Chase’s alma mater, Tilton Academy.

On the first floor, extensive renovations to the childcare space used by the YWCA School-Age Program are complete. As a result of expansion and renovation of the space licensed for childcare, the year-round YWCA School-Age Program for children 5-13, grades K-8, has open slots for the summer

The Tribute to Women is the YWCA’s signature fundraising event. All proceeds support YWCA services to women and families.

Details and nomination forms are available from the YWCA main desk at 107 Winter St., or by downloading a form here. Nominations are due by June 2.