McGrath First Recipient of Robert J. Gablosky Memorial Scholarship

Greater Haverhill Arts Association.

The 2017 Robert J. Gablosky Memorial Scholarship was awarded Sunday to Holly McGrath, a Haverhill High graduate continuing art study at Massachusetts College of Arts and Design.

The award was presented by the Greater Haverhill Arts Association during a reception at Buttonwoods Museum, marking the opening of an annual Student Exhibit. It is named for late Haverhill Gazette staff writer Gablosky, who also founded the association in 1971. Gablosky died in January at age 88.

McGrath used metals to create her award-winning design in the student show. The exhibit remains on display through Friday, May 19.

Middle school artists receiving awards were Brooke Bailey, Adrienne Collier, Kathryn Doucette, Gabriel Michaelman, and Tessa Porter. Honorable mentions went to Adrienne Collier, Kasey Favor, Edward Gregoire and Tessa Porter. Winning high school artists were Chloë Allard, Molly Balentine, Nick D’Allessandro, Olivia Landry and Dmitry Wood. Honorable mentions went to Balentine, D’Allessandro, Landry, Jessica Dickinson, Sophia Dixon, Niamh Rollins, Sam Shirley, Jessica Smith, Sarah Spencer and Lydia Sullivan.

A painting by Gablosky, contributed by his family to benefit his memorial scholarship fund, is being displayed and silently auctioned at Buttonwoods. Bidding closes June 11, at 2 p.m.