Mortimer to Receive Haverhill Chamber’s Top Honor

Haverhill Bank President and CEO Thomas L. Mortimer. (Courtesy photograph.)

Haverhill Bank President Thomas L. Mortimer receives the Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce’s top honor during the chamber’s 101st annual dinner next month.

Mortimer receives the Charles E. Billups Award, named for the longtime Essex County Gas Co. chairman. The award was established in 1985 to recognize an outstanding organization or individual that “continuously and selflessly supports the efforts,” made a positive impact on the business organization and goes “above and beyond in their participation, leadership and overall support.”

Mortimer became president of Haverhill Bank in 2010. He has served on the boards of Penacook Place and Haverhill Day Nursery. He is also the past-president of the Chamber, past-president and member of Kiwanis International and has served as co-chair of the All Saints Parish Finance Committee. He first entered banking in 1985, and served various local institutions including Family Bank, Fleet Bank and, beginning in 1998, Pentucket Bank. He earned a bachelor’s degree in finance at Northeastern University, where he was later inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame for his excellence in the sport of Track. Mortimer also earned a master of business administration degree in finance from the University of Lowell (now University of Massachusetts, Lowell). He is married and has three children.

Other awards to be presented at the Chamber’s annual meeting Thursday, June 8, are the Jerry Loy Outstanding Director of the Year Award to Steve Flynn, Nunan’s Florist and Greenhouses, and Bradley Howell, Career Resources Corporation; Community Leadership Award to George Moriarty, Northern Essex Community College; and Chamber Service Award to Sarah McCarthy, HC Media.

For more information about the Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce’s annual meeting, call 978-373-5663 or visit