A Dozen HPS Teachers Among 17 Nominated for Y’s Educator of the Year

Two of the 17 nominees for YMCA Educator of the Year teach at Haverhill High School.

Twelve Haverhill Public Schools teachers and administrators are among nominees to be honored at the YMCA’s Eighth Annual Educator of The Year award ceremony Tuesday, Nov. 15. Four teachers from Whittier Regional High School and one from Sacred Hearts School also are nominated.

Schools Superintendent James F. Scully Wednesday congratulated staff members “recognized either by a peer, parent, or other professional for being outstanding at educating our youth.” The event begins at 5:30 p.m., Tuesday, at DiBurro’s, 887 Boston Road, Haverhill.

“We are honored that their great work has been recognized,” Scully said in a statement. Each nominee will receive a citation, an award and 25 youth memberships to the YMCA for their students.

Nominees from the Haverhill schools include Christina Knightly, Consentino School; Mary Sullivan, Golden Hill School; Neil Wilkins, Haverhill Alternative School; Jean Ray and Cliff Ashbrook, Haverhill High School; Meredith Weich, Moody School; Kathleen Flanagan and Lauren Roberts, Pentucket Lake School; Paul Corriveau , Silver Hill Horace Mann Charter School; Jennifer Peterson and Principal Bonnie Antkowiak, Tilton School; and Ruth Cranton,  district music program.

The nominees from Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School are Elizabeth Devenney, Patrick Allen, Tami Ruggelo and Jane Moskevitz. Sacred Hearts’ Susan Skolski is also nominated.

Last year’s Educator of the Year was Pentucket Lake School teacher Cheryl Marr.

As WHAV reported Sept. 30, Whittier’s Birthplace’s Augustine J. “Gus” Reusch and Emmaus are also being honored for their “commitment to community,” according to YMCA officials.

Reusch served as a middle school social studies instructor for both St. Joseph’s School and Haverhill public schools for nearly 40 years. He began his teaching career at St. Joseph’s School in 1965.  He then taught between 1971 and 1985 at the Nettle School, between 1985 and 1997 at Hunking School and then back to St. Joseph’s School until his retirement in 2002.

Emmaus was founded in 1985 to provide housing and services to homeless adults and families in Haverhill. It has helped more than 25,000 homeless children, women and men find permanent housing, jobs and self-sufficiency through various programs, emergency shelters and transitional housing.

Tickets are $40 each, and include dinner and raffles. For more information, call Tracy Fuller at 978-374-0506 or email [email protected].


One thought on “A Dozen HPS Teachers Among 17 Nominated for Y’s Educator of the Year

  1. Congratulations to all the nominees!!!!

    With the utmost, and sincere, all due respect to all the teachers/nominees, there is no one more deserving of this award than Jean Ray!!! She has spent literally a lifetime being an advocate for kids in and out of the classroom. There is no better role model of what professionalism and dedication to the profession of teaching looks like than how Jean has done the job all these years serving the kids at HHS!! Thank you Jean, and good luck !!!