Election Day 2016 is Finally Here; Turnout ‘Brisk’ as Voting Begins

State Rep. Diana DiZoglio, who represents the Bradford section of Haverhill, is one of two local lawmakers running unopposed in today's election. The other is state Rep. Brian S. Dempsey.

Turnout this morning at polling places in Haverhill, for today’s presidential election, was “brisk and steady,” according to the Haverhill city clerk’s office.

Morning commuters were among the first to turn out when polling locations for the city’s 21 precincts opened at 7 a.m. Polls will remain open until 8 tonight. Voters will help decide races up and down the ballot, from the next president to the next Essex County sheriff. Democrat and Lynn Police Chief Kevin F. Coppinger and Republican challenger Anne M. Manning-Martin of Peabody each want to succeed Sheriff Frank G. Cousins, who is not seeking another term.

In the race for the 3rd Congressional District seat, Haverhill Republican Roseann L. “Ann” Ehrhard Wofford makes her second bid to unseat incumbent Congresswoman Niki Tsongas, a Lowell Democrat.

Among area legislators, incumbent state Reps. Linda Dean Campbell of Methuen and James J. Lyons Jr. of Andover face challenges for their seats, as does state Sen. Barbara A. L’Italien of Andover. State Reps. Brian S. Dempsey of Haverhill and Diana DiZoglio of Methuen and state Sen. Kathleen A. O’Connor Ives of Newburyport run unopposed.

Four ballot questions ask voters to approve another state casino license, a lift on the state’s cap on charter schools, a change to how livestock and farm animals are housed, and allowing the sale and use of recreational marijuana.

The Haverhill Democratic City Committee is offering free rides to the polls on election day.

Any registered voter, no matter his or her party, who needs a ride to their voting precinct may call 978-476-6966 to arrange transportation.

Stay tuned to WHAV for national and local election coverage, beginning at 7 p.m. Tuesday. WHAV will interrupt network programs as local election results are known.

WHAV will air Democracy Now!’s five-hour election night special beginning at 7.

Amy Goodman and Juan González host a rolling roundtable discussion across the country as they cover results from the presidential election to congressional and state races as well as ballot initiatives.

Democracy Now!’s election night special features interviews and perspectives listeners won’t hear elsewhere. Goodman and González look at what the election results mean for war and peace, climate change, income inequality, racial and economic justice, LGBTQ rights and other global issues.


3 thoughts on “Election Day 2016 is Finally Here; Turnout ‘Brisk’ as Voting Begins

  1. WHAV: What’s the promotion of “Democracy Now” ?

    Why is this station airing programming which focuses on promoting the pro-liberal agenda? Hasn’t liberalism done enough to ruin this once great country?