Fiorentini Awaits Write-In Tally; Bevilacqua Wins Handily

Haverhill Mayor James J. Fiorentini.

Democratic State Committeeman and Woman

As of 9 a.m., this morning, it isn’t clear whether Haverhill Mayor James J. Fiorentini has won his bid for re-election as the area’s Democratic state committeeman.

Fiorentini conducted a write-in campaign for the seat he has held for 15 years after a technical problem prevented his name from appearing on the ballot. He had no known formal opposition.

According to an unofficial tally of votes from the Haverhill City Clerk’s office, there were 1,776 write-in votes for Democratic state committeeman. In Methuen, there were 1,097 write-in votes. Clerks’ offices are now manually reviewing those write-ins to determine the total to allocate to Fiorentini.

Louise Bevilacqua was re-elected as Democratic state committeewoman, a seat she has held since 2004. Bevilacqua, the only name on the ballot, received moe than 15,000 votes across the district. These include 6,312 votes in Haverhill, 3,988 votes in Methuen, 1,313 in Newburyport, 1,983 in Amesbury, 1,569 in North Andover and 754 in Merrimac—the area’s largest voting blocks.

Both seats are elected by Democrats in the state’s First Essex Senate district, comprising Haverhill, Methuen, Newburyport, Amesbury, Merrimac, Salisbury and a portion of North Andover.

Louise Bevilacqua 
North Andover1569