Educators to Name Scholarship Winner, Honor Veterans and Retirees

Haverhill teachers, clerical unit and education support personnel at a recent meeting of the Haverhill School Committee.

Members of the Haverhill Education Association (HEA) are beginning the process of reviewing scholarship applications after raising more than $2,000.

Applications for the 2015 HEA Scholarship were due yesterday. The union representing teachers, clerical unit and education support personnel, will award one college-bound student from Haverhill Public Schools at its annual Honors Banquet, Wednesday, May 20, 6:30 p.m. at DiBurro’s Function Facility, 887 Boston Road.

The event also honors the 20-year school veterans and 2015 retirees. Veterans include Kathleen Arivella, Cathy Clayton, Kevin Demarais, Patricia Dupre, Patricia Firger, Joan Forrest, Lee Henderson, Sheila Jameson, Tom Jordan, Joyce Kornachuk, Mary Lasonde, Heather Latch, Mary Litchfield, Cheryl Lynch, Christine O’Leary, Tempa Pagel, Eileen Paquette, Jennifer Peterson, Jody Plourde, Jennifer Roberts, Alberto Rosso and Janet Scanlan.

Retirees are Ellen Concanon, Susan Coppola, Cathy DeLong, Judy DeMellia, Barbara Harvey, Carol Ireland, Gracelyn Jegorow, Joe Leary, Cheryl Little, Lynn Noyes, Anita Probst, Nancy Rheaume, Cynthia Rubera, Marie Soraghan and Susan Thomas.