Tamberino Takes Papers for Haverhill Mayoral Run; Sullivan Seeks Ward 2 School Seat

Melanie Tamberino has set her sights on the corner office at City Hall. (Courtesy photograph.)

To submit election-related announcements, click on image or email [email protected]. These are the only acceptable methods of sending campaign news.

There are now seven candidates for Haverhill mayor and the entrant of an incumbent School Committee ensures more change is coming to the city’s educational body.

Melanie Tamberino took nomination papers late last week from the Haverhill City Clerk’s office, joining six others who similarly expressed interest in succeeding Mayor James J. Fiorentini next January. Tamberino previously took out papers for the same post in 2019, but withdrew from the race. Others in the contest, alphabetically, are City Councilor Melinda E. Barrett, Debra Campanile, retired Patrolman Guy E. Cooper, George Eleftheriou, former Assistant Harbormaster Timothy Slavit and School Committee member Scott W. Wood Jr.

It remains to be seen how many of the mayoral contenders will return completed nomination papers with at least 50 valid signatures by the Friday, July 21 deadline.

Haverhill School Committee member Gail M. Sullivan. (WHAV News photograph.)

Incumbent School Committee member Gail M. Sullivan also took out nomination papers for a run for the Ward 2 School Committee. Sullivan and her colleague, School Committee member Toni Sapienza-Donais are both seeking the post in the absence of any at-large seats.

There will be no election of at-large School Committee members this year as those elected to four-year terms in 2021— Paul A. Magliocchetti, Maura L. Ryan-Ciardiello and Richard J. Rosa—are permitted to complete their terms of office at large.

In other local election news, Cooper plans his campaign kickoff with a reception and fundraiser Thursday, July 13, beginning at 6 p.m., at Peddler’s Daughter, 45 Wingate St., Haverhill. Cooper welcomes supporters, volunteers and donors. There will be light appetizers and a cash bar.

Ward 1 City Council candidate Ralph T. Basiliere was elected two weeks ago to the Haverhill Inner City Boxing & Youth Development board of directors. He attended his first meeting last week.

(Names are listed alphabetically under each campaign)
Barrett, Melinda E.
Campanile, Debra
Cooper, Guy E.
Eleftheriou, George
Wood, Scott W. Jr.
City Council-At Large
Jordan, Timothy J.
LePage, Colin F.
Michitson, John A.
Simmons, Fred A.
Sullivan, Thomas J.
City Council Ward 1
Basiliere, Ralph T.
Veras, Alexander
City Council Ward 2
Hobbs Everett, Katrina
Sapienza-Donais, Toni
City Council Ward 3
Ferreira, Devan
City Council Ward 4
Lambert, Craig
Lewandowski, Melissa J.
Quimby, Kenneth E.
City Council Ward 5
Morales, Michael
Toohey, Shaun P.
City Council Ward 6
Aguilo, Oliver
McGonagle, Michael S.
City Council Ward 7
Rogers, Catherine P.
School Committee-At Large*
Magliocchetti, Paul A.
Rosa, Richard J.
Ryan-Ciardiello, Maura L.
School Committee Ward 1
No nominees
School Committee Ward 2
Sapienza-Donais, Toni
Sullivan, Gail M.
School Committee Ward 3
Dilonex, Liliana
Ferguson, Cheryl
School Committee Ward 4
Lalumiere, Mikaela
Simmons, Fred A.
Thomas, Courtney
Wood, Scott W. Jr.
School Committee Ward 5
Hickey, Lynette
Story, Jill
School Committee Ward 6
Collins, Yonnie
Pfeil, Chad
School Committee Ward 7
Downer, Edward
Grannemann, Thomas
Rogers, Hunter
* No election in 2023

Comments are closed.