Campaign Notebook: LePage, Basiliere Plan City Council Campaign Launches Tonight

At large City Council candidate Colin F. LePage, left, and Ward 1 City Council candidate Ralph T. Basiliere. (Courtesy photographs.)

To submit election-related announcements, click on image or email [email protected]. These are the only acceptable methods of sending campaign news.

Two Haverhill City Council candidates—one at-large and one for Ward 1—plan campaign kickoff events tonight in downtown Haverhill.

Colin F. LePage, who is running for one of four at-large City Council seats, formally launches his candidacy during a reception, from 6-8 p.m., at Hans Garden, 114 Washington St., Haverhill. There will be light refreshments and a cash bar. Suggested donations range from $50 to $1,000, but not required to attend. Checks may be made out to Friends of Colin LePage Committee or online here.

Ward 1 candidate Ralph T. Basiliere is offering refreshments and greeting residents from 5:30-7:30 p.m., at Maria’s Galleria Banquet Room, 85 Essex St. A donation is not required to attend, but suggested contributions range from $25 to $1,000. Checks may be made out to the Basiliere Committee or online here.

For the first time, the City Council expands to 11 members with seven city councilors elected by ward with four others elected at-large. There are candidates for every seat, but seats in Wards 3 and 7 are uncontested.

The School Committee likewise will have seven ward members, three citywide representatives and the mayor as tiebreaker. There are no candidates at all yet for Wards 1 and 3, and candidates are running unopposed so far in Wards 2 and 7. There will be no election of at-large School Committee members this year as those elected to four-year terms in 2021— Paul A. Magliocchetti, Maura L. Ryan-Ciardiello and Richard J. Rosa—are permitted to complete their terms of office at large.

Other considering elected office have until Friday, July 21 to take out papers. Candidates for city office have until Tuesday, July 25, to return nomination papers with at least 50 valid signatures for those running for mayor or city councilors at large or at least 25 valid signatures for ward councilor or School Committee member to the city’s Board of Registrars of Voters.

Haverhill’s preliminary election, if needed, takes place Tuesday, Sept. 12, while the final election is Tuesday, Nov. 7.

(Names are listed alphabetically under each campaign)
Barrett, Melinda E.
Campanile, Debra
Cooper, Guy E.
Eleftheriou, George
Wood, Scott W. Jr.
City Council-At Large
Jordan, Timothy J.
LePage, Colin F.
Michitson, John A.
Simmons, Fred A.
Sullivan, Thomas J.
City Council Ward 1
Basiliere, Ralph T.
Veras, Alexander
City Council Ward 2
Hobbs Everett, Katrina
Sapienza-Donais, Toni
City Council Ward 3
Ferreira, Devan
City Council Ward 4
Lambert, Craig
Lewandowski, Melissa J.
Quimby, Kenneth E.
City Council Ward 5
Morales, Michael
Toohey, Shaun P.
City Council Ward 6
Aguilo, Oliver
McGonagle, Michael S.
City Council Ward 7
Rogers, Catherine P.
School Committee-At Large*
Magliocchetti, Paul A.
Rosa, Richard J.
Ryan-Ciardiello, Maura L.
School Committee Ward 1
No nominees
School Committee Ward 2
Sapienza-Donais, Toni
Sullivan, Gail M.
School Committee Ward 3
Dilonex, Liliana
Ferguson, Cheryl
School Committee Ward 4
Lalumiere, Mikaela
Simmons, Fred A.
Thomas, Courtney
Wood, Scott W. Jr.
School Committee Ward 5
Hickey, Lynette
Story, Jill
School Committee Ward 6
Collins, Yonnie
Pfeil, Chad
School Committee Ward 7
Downer, Edward
Grannemann, Thomas
Rogers, Hunter
* No election in 2023

Comments are closed.