Haverhill Democrats Re-Elect Cox as Chair; Reorganize City and Ward Committees

Haverhill Democratic City Committee Chair William D. Cox addresses the crowd at a Haverhill Democratic City Committee dinner in 2018. (Jay Saulnier file photograph for WHAV News.)

Haverhill Democrats recently re-elected William D. Cox Jr. as chairman of the Haverhill Democratic City Committee—his 18th year.

Besides Cox, who also works as Haverhill’s city solicitor, City Committee members elected were Roz McKeon, female vice chair; Joseph LeBlanc, male vice chair; Eva Rajczyk, secretary; and Paul Accardi, treasurer.

“I was very honored to be re-elected chair of the City Committee and look forward to continuing to work together with our terrific members and friends of the Committee,” Cox said.

The organization, which is required by law to reorganize every four years coinciding with presidential primary years, also elected other City and Ward Committee members during an unprecedented online meeting.

“Local Democrats are highly energized to work hard this year to see to it that all Democratic candidates from president to state representatives are victorious on Nov. 3! We are re-grouping to meet the challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic and will be reaching out to all voters in Haverhill and beyond,” Cox said.

Here is the outcome of Ward elections:

Ward 1: Ralph Basiliere, chair; Ward 2: Thomas Grannemann, chair, and Joanna Dix, secretary; Ward 3: Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, chair, and Josiah Morrow, treasurer; Ward 4:  Steven Goecke, chair; Heather McMann, vice chair; and Kenneth Quimby, treasurer; Ward 5: Daniel Speers, chair; Ward 6: Graham Schwass, chair, and Toni Acevedo, treasurer; and  Ward 7: Joseph LeBlanc, chair, and Maureen Ferris, vice chair.

Wards 1, 2, 5 and 7 are still looking for treasurers. Those interested are advised to contact their ward chair.

Christina Eckert, candidate for 2nd Essex state representative, also made a presentation during the virtual meeting. Eckert came in a close second two years ago to incumbent Rep. Leonard Mirra.

Comments are closed.