Massachusetts League of Women Voters Elects Haverhill Woman As Director

Hartell Johnson, second from right, with City Councilors Melinda E. Barrett, Joseph J. Bevilacqua, Mary Ellen Daly O'Brien and Timothy J. Jordan. (WHAV News file photograph.)

The Massachusetts League of Women Voters recently elected new leadership and, among those taking the reins today, is Hartell Johnson of Haverhill.

Johnson joins the new batch of directors for a two-year term. Elections took place during the League’s biennial Convention in June. For former Haverhill City Council candidate Johnson, responsibilities include community outreach, fundraising and inducting new members.

The near century-old group took the change in leadership as an opportunity to restate its goals—officially treating climate change as a “climate emergency,” fighting to improve elections and promoting equality-based legislation.

Besides Johnson, those elected were Mary Ann Ashton of Acton and Judy Zaunbrecher, both of Concord, co-presidents; Kathy Leonardson, Marblehead, first vice president; Lee Bona, Worcester, second vice president; Cindy Ku, Sudbury, secretary; Andrea Kozinetz, Newton, treasurer; and directors Kate Boland, Hingham; Nancy Brumback, Sudbury; Elizabeth Foster-Nolan, Weymouth; Jennifer Muroff, Needham; Tanya Roy, Wellesley; and Amy Smith, Georgetown.

The group is non-partisan, its core values are to secure maximum voter participation in government and to help broaden public.

Comments are closed.