Haverhill’s Master Plan Committee Holding First Public Session Wednesday at Consentino

Mayor James J. Fiorentini outlines his master plan for Haverhill during his 2018 inauguration ceremony. Councilor Melinda E. Barrett is at left while Lt. Gov. Karyn Polito is at right. (WHAV News file photograph.)

Introducing…Haverhill 2035! Next Wednesday night, Mayor James J. Fiorentini plans to formally convene his 13-member Master Plan Committee for the first time in a public session at Consentino School during a community outreach meeting to discuss what he’s calling “Vision Haverhill 2035”—a plan to guide city progress for schools, businesses, homes, parks and playgrounds.

The new master plan replaces one developed in the 1990s, Fiorentini said.

“This is about deciding what the Haverhill of the future will look like,” Fiorentini told WHAV in a statement ahead of Wednesday’s meeting. “We want to hear from a broad spectrum of the public, not just consultants and city officials. We really want a good turnout because we want the residents of the city to help us set the vision for the next 15 years or more.”

Open to all city residents, the 6 p.m. meeting includes an overview of the master plan process, with an analysis of existing conditions by the Utile Architecture and Planning firm, the agency hired to consult on the project. Additional information is available at VisionHaverhill2035.org.

Serving on Fiorentini’s Master Plan Committee are James Rurak, Dougan Sherwood, Gene O’Neil, George Moriarty, Gary Ortiz, Jenny Arndt, Lynda Brown, Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, Mike Drossos, Mike Stankovich, Rob Moore, Steve Gullo and Bill Pillsbury.

The 6 p.m. session takes place at Consentino School, 685 Washington St., Haverhill.

Comments are closed.