Podcast: All Five Haverhill Mayoral Candidates Answer Questions About Pressing Issues

All five candidates running to become Haverhill’s next mayor have spoken directly to listeners during a series of live interviews with Win Damon, host of WHAV’s “Win for Breakfast” program. All interviews, running about 10 minutes each, are now available to be heard on demand at WHAV.net and all popular podcast sites. Arranged in ballot order, the candidates are Melinda E. Barrett, Scott W. Wood Jr., Guy E. Cooper, Debra M. Campanile and George Eleftheriou. Instead of generic questions, WHAV asked each candidate on Tuesday’s preliminary election ballot about specific and pressing issues. They were asked the following questions as time allowed:

For years, financial constraints forced the city put off buying equipment, building improvements and construction of new schools and a Broadway-area fire station.

Campaign Notebook: U.S. Rep. Trahan Endorses Barrett for Haverhill Mayor

Congresswoman Lori Trahan is backing City Councilor Melinda E. Barrett for Haverhill’s next mayor. The endorsement comes on Haverhill’s first day of early voting in advance of next week’s preliminary election. “Melinda Barrett is a tireless advocate and relentless fighter for hardworking families across Haverhill. I’ve had the opportunity to work closely with Melinda to make unprecedented investments in the city’s infrastructure, public schools and local economy. I’m endorsing Melinda Barrett for Mayor because she’s prepared to hit the ground running on day one to continue making Haverhill an even better place to live, work and raise a family,” Trahan said in a press release.

Campaign Notebook: Haverhill Chamber Plans Coffee with Haverhill Mayoral Candidates

Residents have an opportunity to mingle with Haverhill’s mayoral candidates during, what is described as, “a casual coffee where you can talk to the candidates in a calm atmosphere.”

The Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce said it invited all five candidates appearing on Haverhill’s upcoming preliminary election ballot to participate. They are, in ballot order, City Councilor Melinda E. Barrett, School Committee member Scott W. Wood Jr., retired Patrolman Guy E. Cooper, Debra Campanile and George Eleftheriou. “This is an opportunity for voters to meet the candidates and make an informed decision when they cast their ballot at the primary on Tuesday, Sept. 12th. Haverhill will have a new mayor for the first time in 20 years so this is a big decision,” said Chamber Vice President Kate Martin.

Information Session Sept. 6 for Voters with Questions About Haverhill’s Election Changes

Those with questions about Haverhill’s change to mostly ward-based elections have an opportunity to learn more at an in-person information session a week from Wednesday. Haverhill City Clerk Kaitlin M. Wright and her office host the public to explain the change to the upcoming electoral system with both ward and at-large representatives set to go into effect during this fall’s city elections. The session will take place Wednesday, Sept. 6, at 5 p.m., in the Theodore A. Pelosi Jr. City Council Chambers, Haverhill City Hall, room 202, 4 Summer St., Haverhill. There will be time for a question-and-answer period and all are welcome to attend.

Withdrawal of Haverhill Minority Candidate Means No Name on Ward 1 School Committee Ballot

One of the seats seen as most critical for delivery of minority representation to Haverhill city government will have no candidates this fall. The surprise revelation came Thursday when Esteban Marte withdrew his name from consideration for the Ward 1 School Committee seat. It was the final day for withdrawing nominations for elected office. Marte, who was a last-minute candidate when he pulled nomination papers from the Haverhill City Clerk’s office last month, was a virtual shoo-in without an opponent. Marte told WHAV “it’s a bummer,” but he doesn’t believe now he could fulfil the role the way he originally wanted and intended.

Methuen City Council Chair Zeigler Seeks to Succeed Duff on Governor’s Council

Methuen City Council Chair Eunice D. Zeigler this weekend launched her campaign for 5th District governor’s councilor. Zeigler’s announcement comes on the heels of five-term Governor’s Councilor Eileen R. Duff’s decision to seek the post of Essex County Register of Deeds in 2024 following incumbent John L. O’Brien Jr.’s decision not to seek re-election. Zeigler said she enters the race with Duff’s encouragement. “I want to thank Governor’s Councilor Eileen Duff for her dedicated service to the people of the 5th District over the past 10 years.  I’m grateful for her strong leadership toward creating a more fair and equitable justice system in Massachusetts.”

Zeigler, who ran unsuccessfully last year for the redrawn Lawrence, Haverhill and Methuen state senate seat, said she is running for Governor’s Council because she believes she offers “a unique perspective to the body that decides who our judges will be, who sits on our Parole Board and who receives commutations and pardons.” She adds she is not a lawyer and has no conflicts of interest. “What I bring to the table is the ability to represent all our district’s residents, including historically marginalized communities,” she said.

Haverhill Elections are Non-Partisan, But Here is How Candidates Think of Themselves

Although Haverhill’s local elections are non-partisan, many residents have expressed curiosity about party affiliations held by the city’s various candidates. According to city records, three out of the five candidates for mayor are affiliated with the Democratic Party. They are, alphabetically, City Councilor Melinda E. Barrett, George Eleftheriou and School Committee member Scott W. Wood Jr.

Registered Republicans in the mayoral race are Debra Campanile and retired Patrolman Guy E. Cooper. Among those seeking election at-large to the City Council are Democrats John A. Michitson, Fred A. Simmons and Thomas J. Sullivan. Unenrolled candidates are Timothy J. Jordan and Colin F. LePage.