Haverhill, North Andover and Merrimac Schools Receive Awards at Safe Routes to School Ceremony

Dr. Paul C. Nettle School. (Jay Saulnier file photograph for WHAV News.)

Schools in Haverhill, North Andover and Merrimac were recognized last Thursday by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation in its Annual Safe Routes to School Award Ceremony, which celebrates the schools, community members, stakeholders and crossing guards who have championed the safety of Massachusetts students on their daily routes to school. The ceremony honored partners of the Massachusetts Safe Routes to School Program, a federally funded program that focuses on improving student independence, boosting school attendance, decreasing traffic congestion, and overall ensuring the safety of students in their communities.

“We are thankful to all the school communities and the advocates whose input through the Safe Routes to School Program helps us identify the specific strategies, resources and tools needed to better protect our school children,” said state Transportation Secretary and CEO Monica Tibbits-Nutt. “Their dedication makes a meaningful difference, and these awards are a token of our appreciation not just for the winners whom we congratulate, but for everyone who has contributed to the important mission of keeping all road users safe.”

Schools that participated in the program and shared their Safe Routes to School 2023-24 accomplishments received Partnership awards. Each activity a school completes within the program has a designated point value, which once complied, determines the level of partnership the school is awarded.

In Haverhill, Basic Partnership was awarded to Bradford Elementary School, Caleb Dustin Hunking School, Crowell Elementary School, Dr. Albert B. Consentino School, Greenleaf Academy, John Greenleaf Whittier School, Pentucket Lake Elementary School, John C. Tilton School and Walnut Square Elementary School. Bronze Partnership is being awarded to Golden Hill and Silver Hill Elementary Schools. And Silver Partnership is being awarded to Dr. Paul C, Nettle School.

Kittredge Elementary School in North Andover received a Bronze Partnership, and Dr. Frederick N. Sweetsir School and Helen R. Donaghue School in Merrimac both received Silver Partnerships.

The ceremony took place at the Massachusetts State House Hall of Flags. Besides Tibbits-Nutt, Highway Administrator Johnathan Gulliver was among those in attendance. The ceremony was paid by the Federal Highway Administration.

Comments are closed.