Haverhill Democrats’ Unscientific Straw Poll Favors Fiorentini, Morrow and Rosa in Upcoming Election

Haverhill Democratic City Committee Chair William D. Cox addresses the crowd at a Haverhill Democratic City Committee dinner in 2018. (Jay Saulnier file photograph for WHAV News.)

Haverhill Democrats, gathering Saturday morning for the Haverhill Democratic City Committee’s Roz McKeon Annual Breakfast, made it known who they plan to vote for in the city’s upcoming, non-partisan local election.

The unscientific straw poll, favoring member Democrats and influenced by how many of their supporters attended, selected Mayor James J. Fiorentini over Colin F. LePage, a registered Republican, by 73 to 27%.

In Haverhill’s City Council contest Tuesday, Nov. 2, the poll placed newcomer Josiah E. Morrow on top with 64%. He was followed by City Councilor Thomas J. Sullivan, 53%; City Council President Melinda E. Barrett, 45%; Katrina Hobbs-Everett, 44%; John A. Michitson, 42%; Timothy J. Jordan, 38%; William B. Taylor and Kenneth R. Stevenson, tied at 25%; Joseph J. Bevilacqua and Fred A. Simmons, tied at 22%; Kenneth E. Quimby Jr., 20%; Tomas G. Michel, 15%; Melissa J. Lewandowski, 13%; Michael S. McGonagle and Catherine Rogers, tied at 9%; Shaun P. Toohey, 5%; and Dee Jacobs O’Neil, 2%.

For Haverhill School Committee, Richard J. Rosa received 73% of the total followed by Paul A. Magliocchetti, 51%; Miguel Quinones, 47%; and Maura L. Ryan-Ciardiello, 9%.

During the breakfast, Haverhill Democrats named Sen. Diana DiZoglio as 2021 Elected Distinguished Democrat and Maureen Ferris as 2021 HDCC Distinguished Democrat. The Committee also surprised chair William D. Cox Jr. by giving him a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The steering committee said it was time for Cox’ efforts to be recognized by the committee and public. “We appreciate his work and the intelligence, poise and good humor he brings to this voluntary position,” said Vice Chair Joseph LeBlanc. “He keeps Haverhill Democrats focused on fighting for our party’s agenda on the local, state and national levels.”

Rep. Andy X. Vargas was the featured speaker.

Comments are closed.