Bevilacqua Draws Top Ballot Position in Haverhill Council Race

Haverhill City Councilor Joseph J. Bevilacqua. (WHAV News file photograph by Jay Saulnier)

City Councilor Joseph J. Bevilacqua drew the top spot Friday on the crowded Haverhill City Council ballot.

Every two years in Haverhill, there is a debate about what role ballot position plays in an election candidate’s success, but everyone agrees it can’t hurt. One theory is voters pick the first nine names they recognize, omitting votes for those near the end of the ballot. Bevilacqua says he doesn’t know if garnering the top spot helps.

“I really don’t know. I really and truly don’t know. I’ll continue to work very hard to earn the support of the citizens and residents. It’s important to me to be active in the community. They know that I represent them.”

In the mayoral race, Mayor James J. Fiorentini won the top spot followed by challenger Daniel Trocki, while incumbent Scott W. Wood Jr. took the top spot in the School Committee race.

Ballot positions were drawn by Chairman of the Board of Registrars Robert DesMarais at Haverhill City Clerk Linda L. Koutoulas’ office.

After Bevilacqua, the order of names on the City Council ballot are Councilor Michael S. McGonagle, Douglas W. Edison, Councilor William J. Macek, Nicholas Golden, Fred Simmons, Council Vice President Thomas J. Sullivan, former School Committee member Shaun P. Toohey, City Council President John A. Michitson, former City Councilor Kenneth E. Quimby, Councilor Melinda E. Barrett, Councilor Timothy J. Jordan, Councilor Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, Stavros A. Dimakis, Joseph P. Sherlock and Councilor Colin F. LePage.

After Wood, the School Committee ballot before voters Tuesday, Nov. 5, displays Stephanie L. Viola, Toni A. Sapienza-Donais, School Committee Vice Chairman Sven A. Amirian, Thomas W. Grannemann and School Committee member Gail M. Sullivan.

Comments are closed.