Whittier Tech Senior Among Those Receiving Scholarships; Seeks to be Registered Nurse

Kaylee Cerullo, right, receives scholarship from, left to right, donor Ken Deluca; Whittier Tech School Committee member Scott W. Wood Jr.; donor Al Veilleux; and Valley Patriot Publisher Tom Duggan. (WHAV News photograph.)

A senior at Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School is receiving a help paying her tuition to a college nursing program this fall.

17-year-old Kaylee Cerullo was awarded a $2,133 scholarship Friday night during the Valley Patriot newspaper’s 15th Annual Bash. She plans to attend to study nursing at Northern Essex Community College after graduation from Whittier. Cerullo is already a certified nursing assistant at Wingate Nursing Home in Haverhill, where she is certified to work with dementia patients and administration of CPR and first aid. She seeks to become a registered nurse.

At Whittier Tech, Cerullo has been a member of the peer leadership program and cheerleading and volleyball teams. She also volunteers each year for the Vietnam Memorial Road Race.

Cerullo was presented the scholarship by Whittier Tech School Committee member Scott W. Wood Jr., Valley Patriot Publisher Tom Duggan and donors Al Veilleux and Ken Deluca. Other donors were Lisa Williams, Local 1421 Building Wreckers, Rep. Lenny Mirra, Haverhill Mayor James J. Fiorentini, Frank Quintanna, Joe and Connie Carol       , Twomey and Legare Contracting, David Electric, Dave Abdoo and Bob Rennie.

Scholarships were also presented to Rachell Hiraldo, Lawrence High School; Dahianna Diplan and Dan Wahlgren, both from Greater Lawrence Technical School; and Joe Valentino and Hanna Phelan, both of Thomson School, North Andover. The latter scholarship is new this year, honoring Dan Coady Jr., who was killed last year when struck near his tow truck on I-495.

The Officer Tom Duggan Sr. Public Safety Award was given to Lawrence Police Lt. Sean Conway, Lawrence Police Officer Carl Farrington and Lawrence Fire Lt. Mike Maglio. Other awards included the First Amendment Award, presented to Tim Coco, WHAV; John Ratka Hero Veteran Award to Eugene Smith and John Cuddy; Scott Clegg Goodwill Ambassador Award to Michael Gorman and Carrina Pappalardo; and Lifetime Achievement Award to former Methuen Mayor Stephen Zanni.

The annual Valley Patriot Bash honors Lawrence Police Officer Tom Duggan Str., who was killed in the line of duty in 1990.

Comments are closed.