Large Swaths of Haverhill Won’t Be Voting in Election Tomorrow

Haverhill City Clerk Linda L. Koutoulas. (WHAV News file photograph.)

Haverhill City Clerk Linda L. Koutoulas. (WHAV News photograph.)

Click to expand map. Areas outlined in yellow do NOT vote in the Third Essex District special primary. (Map courtesy of Haverhill City Clerk.)

Voting places in areas of the city that are not within the Third Essex State Representative District have been marked with signs indicating voters in those areas will not participate in Tuesday’s special primary election.

Haverhill City Clerk Linda L. Koutoulas’ office took the unusual step after being flooded with calls from Bradford, parts of Riverside and the Lake Street area about where to vote. The district formerly represented by Rep. Brian S. Dempsey does not include any of Bradford, Ward 4 Precinct 3 or Ward 5 Precinct 2.

Two candidates, School Committeeman Paul A. Magliocchetti and City Councilor Andy Vargas, appear on the Democratic primary ballots while School Committeeman Shaun P. Toohey is the only candidate on the Republican ballot.

Koutoulas’ office also placed a notice on the city website indicating “If you vote at Kennedy Circle, First Presbyterian Church, the Hunking School, Northpoint Bible College or Bradford Elementary School, you will not be voting.”

In all other locations, polling places open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Rep. Linda Dean Campbell represents parts of Bradford (Ward 2 Precincts 1 and 2, and Ward 7 Precinct 1) as well as the Lake Street area (Ward 5 Precinct 2), while Rep. Diana DiZoglio represents another part of Bradford (Ward 7 Precinct 2), and Rep. Leonard Mirra represents the remainder of Bradford (Ward 7 Precinct 3) and Riverside (Ward 4 Precinct 3).

97.9 WHAV FM will bring residents election results after 8 p.m. with a series of on-air reports with Marc Lemay. Streaming audio is also available at

2 thoughts on “Large Swaths of Haverhill Won’t Be Voting in Election Tomorrow