Haverhill School Committee Election Attracting Most Attention

All sitting elected officials in Haverhill have taken out nomination papers along with a number of potential challengers. As it stands now, though, only the race for School Committee has enough candidates to require a preliminary election in September—if all are certified.

The race for School Committee heated up at the beginning of the month with the announcement School Committeeman Shaun P. Toohey planned to seek a seat on the City Council instead. His sister-in-law Maura L. Ryan-Ciardiello and Paul A. Magliocchetti, both up for re-election, have taken out nomination papers.

With a month to go for challengers to consider a run, newcomers include Katrina Hobbs Everett, Alicia Smolar, Dave Maddaluno, Richard Smyth and Richard Rosa.

For City Council, all incumbents have taken out papers from the Haverhill City Clerk’s office. They are, in order of when papers were taken, Michael S. McGonagle, Colin F. LePage, Mary Ellen Daly O’Brien, Joseph J. Bevilacqua, William J. Macek, Melinda E. Barrett, Thomas J. Sullivan, Andy Vargas and John A. Michitson.

Besides Toohey, City Council challengers are Kenneth E. Quimby, Adele Martino, Michael J. Katsulis, Fred Simmons, Tim Jordan and Timothy Carroll.

Mayor James J. Fiorentini took out papers June 9. So far, there are no other candidates for mayor. Completed nomination papers must be returned by Aug. 15.

2 thoughts on “Haverhill School Committee Election Attracting Most Attention