‘Bookfear Before Christmas’ Takes Place Saturday at Library

Authors John M. McIlveen and Christopher Golden during an earlier appearance over 97.9 WHAV FM.

Authors John M. McIlveen and Christopher Golden.

The “Bookfear Before Christmas,” taking place Saturday at Haverhill Public Library, gives horror and mystery fans a chance to purchase books before Christmas and obtain signed copies from the more than 30 local authors participating.

New York Times bestselling author Christopher Golden and Bram Stoker Award-nominee John M. McIlveen told WHAV’s Open Mike Show listeners Monday night there will also be readings by authors during the event, taking place Saturday, Dec. 10, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., at Haverhill Public Library, 99 Main St.

A percentage of author sales along with proceeds from the sale of Albie D’s baked goods and raffles benefit the library.

Golden is the author of such novels as Snowblind, Tin Men, The Myth Hunters, Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, Strangewood, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has also written books for teens and young adults, including Poison Ink, Soulless and the thriller series, Body of Evidence, honored by the New York Public Library and chosen as one of YALSA’s Best Books for Young Readers.

He also co-wrote the illustrated novel Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire, with Mike Mignola. It became the launching pad for the cult favorite comics series Baltimore.

McIlveen is the author of the paranormal suspense novel, Hannawhere, winner of the 2015 Drunken Druid Award for high literary merit and nominee for the 2015 Bram Stoker Award in the First Novel category.

He has more than 50 short stories in print, including Inflictions, Jerks and Other Tales From A Perfect Man, and the novelette Got Your Back.

Both authors live in Haverhill.

Besides Golden and McIlveen, participants include Daniel Braum, Brendan DuBois, Dana Cameron, Tom Deady, Kristen Dearborn, Jeff Deck, Karen Dent, Roxanne Dent, Amber Fallon, Craig Shaw Gardner, Scott Goudsward, Chris Irvin, Toni Kelner (Leigh Perry), Nate Kenyon, Bracken Macleod, James Moore, Errick Nunnally, Doug Rinaldi, Rob Smales, Thomas Sniegoski, E.J. Stevens, Tony Tremblay and Douglas Wynne.