Whittier Vo-Tech’s Moskevitz Becomes YMCA Educator of the Year

Health occupations teacher Jane Moskevitz addresses the crowd at DiBurro’s Tuesday night. (WHAV News photograph.)

A 17-year veteran of Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School last night became the YMCA’s educator of the year.

Jane Moskevitz, a health occupations teacher at the school, was one of 18 nominees for the YMCA’s annual award. A colleague nominated Moskevitz after observing the teacher’s extra care in shepherding a disappointed student towards a paid cooperative education job.

“She was sensitive to the student’s desire to be where her peers were and found a position where she could feel needed, successful and independent,” another Whittier instructor wrote.

Accepting the award, Moskevitz said she couldn’t do her job without help from the school’s team.

“It’s great being honored, but I work at a great school and have lots of support,” she said.

Other nominees were Christina Knightly, Consentino School; Mary Sullivan, Golden Hill School; Neil Wilkins, Haverhill Alternative School; Jean Ray and Cliff Ashbrook, Haverhill High School; Meredith Weich, Moody School; Kathleen Flanagan and Lauren Roberts, Pentucket Lake School; Paul Corriveau, Silver Hill Horace Mann Charter School; Jennifer Peterson and Principal Bonnie Antkowiak, Tilton School; Ruth Cranton, Haverhill public schools music program; Elizabeth Devenney, Patrick Allen and Tami Ruggelo, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School; Susan Skolski, Sacred Hearts School; and Yvonne Boyd, St. Joseph’s School of All Saints Parish.

All nominees were given 25 three-month YMCA memberships to distribute at their discretion. Because of Moskevitz’ award, every Whittier Vo-Tech student will receive a free six-month YMCA membership. The school also receives $500 worth of classroom supplies or technology.