Coppinger, Manning-Martin Advance to Nov. Sheriff Election

Essex County Sheriff Kevin F. Coppinger. (WHAV News file photograph.)

Democrat Kevin F. Coppinger during a previous appearance on WHAV’s Open Mike Show.

The campaigns end for Merrimack Valley-based Democrat and Republican candidates for sheriff of Essex County after falling short in the county-wide tally of Thursday’s state primary election.

Voters decided Democrat Kevin F. Coppinger of Lynn and Republican Anne M. Manning-Martin of Peabody will advance to the Nov. 8 general election. Coppinger, with 28 percent of the county-wide vote, edged out second-place finisher Edward J. O’Reilly of Wenham, at 23 percent.

Coppinger has spent the bulk of his career within the Lynn Police Department. Before becoming police chief in 2009, he served as a deputy chief. He rose through the ranks, beginning as a patrol officer in Lynn and Lynnfield.

On the county level, the closest Merrimack Valley Democrat was William Castro of Methuen, who finished fourth in the field of six with 14 percent. He was followed by Jerry P. Robito of Lawrence with nine percent and Paul L. D. Russell Jr. of Andover at four percent. Republican voters across Essex County put Manning-Martin over the top with 41 percent as James P. Jajuga Jr. of Methuen finished second at 33 percent of that vote. Among other valley-based GOP candidates, Jeffrey J. Gallo of Haverhill and Craig G. Lane of Newburyport finished at the bottom two spots in the field of five. Gallo and Lane took 9 percent and 7 percent respectively in the county vote.

Voter turnout in Haverhill was about eight percent, according to Haverhill City Clerk Linda L. Koutoulas. However, if the primary for sheriff was to be decided by Haverhill voters, Democrat Michael J. Marks of Lynn and Republican Jajuga would have advanced to the November election.

According to unofficial results, Marks topped the Democratic sheriff primary race in Haverhill with 467 votes followed by Robito, in second, with 424 votes and Castro third with 422 votes. O’Reilly, Coppinger and Russell rounded out the bottom three in Haverhill with 380, 293 and 127 votes respectively.

Meanwhile, Haverhill Republican voters placed Jajuga on top over Manning-Martin, by a nearly three to one margin, at 483 votes to 168 votes. Gallo finished third in Haverhill at 163 votes, followed by Lane and Kenneth H. Berg of Danvers with 37 and 25 votes respectively. Berg finished third in the county-wide GOP vote.

Coppinger and Manning-Martin will join Independent sheriff candidates Mark E. Archer of Bedford and formerly of Lynn and Kevin Leach of Manchester-by-the-Sea on the November ballot. The winner will succeed Sheriff Frank G. Cousins, who is not seeking another term.


3 thoughts on “Coppinger, Manning-Martin Advance to Nov. Sheriff Election

  1. Since when is Jajuga a Republican? – what a joke.

    Agreed that 8% turn out is pathetic. This is why our country & state are literally going down the tubes.

  2. I guess Billy “snake oil” Ryan had his clock cleaned. His head was so far up Jajuga’s rear end he was walking funny. His power has been neutered by people who have integrity and don’t play a crooked game. Say bye bye Billy !