LaPierre to Attend WHAV’s ‘Reunion of the Radio Stars’

Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Famer and award-winning WBZ news anchor Gary LaPierre has confirmed he is attending WHAV’s “Reunion of the Radio Stars,” Wednesday, June 8, in downtown Haverhill.

LaPierre began his broadcasting career at WHAV in 1961. He moved to WBZ in 1964, where he remained 42 years, retiring in 2006. In 2007, he was reunited with former WBZ personality and another WHAV alumnus Tom Bergeron for WHAV’s 60th anniversary.

He began at WBZ as a general news reporter, quickly became morning anchor and later became well-known for his commentaries, “LaPierre on the Loose.” He is the recipient of the 1998 Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Radio Newscast, presented by the Radio-Television News Directors Association; 1997 Lifetime Achievement Award from the March of Dimes Achievement in Radio Organization; Associated Press Award for Documentary of the Year; San Francisco Award for Best Investigative Journalism; and 1986 Gold Award for Best Newsman of the Year at the International Radio Festival in New York City. LaPierre was inducted into WBZ Radio Hall of Fame in 2007 and Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2010.

Other confirmed attendees at “Reunion of the Radio Stars” are, alphabetically, Paul Bellefeuille, Michael Burns, Joe Clementi, Bob Clinkscale, Joanne Doody, Patricia Johnson, Marc Lemay, Dave “Mack” Macaulay, Bill “Maxwell” Macek, Eddie McGee, Eric Scott and Mark Watson.

The public is invited to enjoy the reunion, featuring wine and food pairing, Wednesday, June 8, 6 p.m., at Maria’s Galleria Banquet Hall, 85 Essex St., Haverhill. Tickets are $45 each or $425 for a table of 10 and may be purchased online at