NECC Business Society Members Receive Honors

Professor Pam Donahue, faculty advisory to the Northern Essex Community College Beta Omicron chapter.

Eight students of Northern Essex Community College’s Beta Omicron chapter of the Alpha Beta Gamma International Business society were honored at the organizations 29th annual induction ceremony held last month. The awards, many of which were recognized at the national meeting of Alpha Beta Gamma, highlight outstanding achievement.

Christine Ogilvie of Newburyport received the Professor Steven Graham Memorial Award, which recognizes significant chapter contributions. Ogilvie represented Beta Omicron at Alpha Beta Gamma’s National Meeting.

Former chapter president Pat Ketabchi, also of Newburyport, won the Hausman Siegel Distinguished Award for outstanding chapter leaders. Ketabchi has been praised for her devotion to ABG activities, including her previous year’s attendance at the national meeting.

Kathleen Blum of Methuen earned the Keith Ulich Memorial Essay Award for her piece “Living Life to Its Fullest.” Other essay prizes were given to Adam Bergstrom of Plaistow, New Hampshire, who reported on the pros and cons of being an entrepreneur and to alumnus Bruce Loring of Brentwood, New Hampshire, who wrote a piece about U.S. investment banks.

The Zagara Competitors’ Award, presented to an outstanding athlete with high academic credentials, was distributed to Johnathan Paulino of Lawrence. Paulino is a member of NECC’s men’s basketball team.

Receiving Beta Omicron-specific awards were Carlos Gabriel of Haverhill and outgoing president Stephanie Quezada of Lawrence. Both were awarded the Muller and Norton Outstanding Leadership Award for their exemplary leadership qualities and ongoing dedication to ABG.

The Beta Omicron chapter itself was recognized with two awards during the ABG’s national meeting – the Professor Donald Bertram Community Service Award for excellence in community service initiatives and the Brooks College Golden Key for outstanding chapter campus services, recruitment, community services, and financial management. This year marks the sixth time that Beta Omicron has won the latter award.

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international honor society that recognizes and encourages scholarship among students of two-year business and professional colleges. Members of NECC’s local chapter must maintain a cumulative 3.0 minimum grade point average and exude strong moral and academic character.

This year’s Beta Omicron induction ceremony welcomed 50 initiates including:



  • Amanda Shepard


  • Cherye Hoff


  • Heather Blais
  • Marlain DeJesús
  • Victoria Alexis Gonzalez
  • Leslie Jimenez
  • Jessica Lucas
  • Marilyn Santiago
  • Nicholas Candage
  • Dianne Pratt
  • John Williamson


  • Karina Calderon
  • Mary Houlihan
  • Zion Ko
  • Tara Torrisi
  • Ashley Ventrillo


  • Jared Shepard



  • Connor Whitford
  • Blair Robertson