School Supervisors, Nurses Up for Contract Votes Tonight

Haverhill City Hall. (WHAV News file photograph.)

Tentative contracts for Haverhill Public Schools’ supervisory and administrative group and nurses are among the agenda highlights for tonight’s Haverhill School Committee meeting.

Committee members are scheduled to vote on memorandums of understanding, including a three-year extension to a 2011 collective bargaining agreement, retroactive to July, 2014, for the supervisory group representing assistant principals and academic supervisors, among others. Amended contract terms include a pay raise schedule of zero percent for 2014 and one percent retroactive to July, 2015. In July, 2016, the proposal calls for a $1,000 increase to salary steps one to four, along with adding a new “step five,” set at $2,500 above “step four.” Updated annual stipends include $4,000 for an assistant director of special education at the high school and a maximum $10,000, or as specified under grants, shared by one or more “homeless coordinators.” The supervisory group will also adopt current health insurance copayments and benefits as with “all other municipal employees.”

A separate tentative agreement with the Massachusetts Nurses Association, on behalf of Haverhill school nurses, also includes an amended three-year extension of the last contract and retroactive to last school year. New salary provisions include a zero percent increase for last year, $1,000 step increases in January, 2016 and January, 2017. Salary steps one to three would be deleted from the salary schedule next school year and set the minimum nurses salary then at $38,181. It would also create a new “step 15” in 2016 and a “step 16” the following year. Each new salary level would be set three percent above the prior step. Professional development and health insurance provisions will follow those for teachers and other municipal employees, respectively.

Also on the school committee agenda, President Scott W. Wood Jr. has scheduled a “superintendent’s evaluation.”

Tonight’s meeting also marks the last regular session in 2015 for the current school committee. Next month, outgoing members Shaun P. Toohey and Susan D. Danehy will be succeeded by newcomer Gail M. Sullivan and former city councilor Sven A. Amirian. Toohey finished fourth in a six-way election in November for three open seats. Danehy did not run for another four-year term. Committeeman Joseph J. Bevilacqua, elected in November to the city council, is expected to announce by then whether or not he will also continue serving on the school committee.

The Haverhill School Committee meets at 7 p.m., tonight, in city council chambers at Haverhill City Hall.